MAHARASHTRA ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION World Trade Centre, Centre No.1, 13th Floor, Cuffe Parade, Mumbai – 400 005 Email: mercindia@merc.gov.in

Website: <u>www.merc.gov.in</u>

DRAFT NOTIFICATION

Electricity Act, 2003

No. MERC/TEC/Licence Conditions/JNPA/2023/ - In exercise of the powers conferred under Section 181 of the Electricity Act, 2003 and all other powers enabling it in this behalf, the Maharashtra Electricity Regulatory Commission hereby makes the following Regulations to amend the Maharashtra Electricity Regulatory Commission (Specific Conditions of Distribution Licence applicable to Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust for SEZ at Jawaharlal Nehru Port, Taluka Uran, District Raigad) Regulations, 2018 ('the principal Regulations'), namely:

1. Short title and commencement:

- (1) These Regulations may be called the Maharashtra Electricity Regulatory Commission (Specific Conditions of Distribution Licence applicable to Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust for SEZ at Jawaharlal Nehru Port, Taluka Uran, District Raigad) (First Amendment) Regulations, 2023.
- (2) These Regulations shall come into force with effect from the date of their publication in the Official Gazette.

2. Amendment of Regulation 2.1(e) of the principal Regulations:

Regulation 2.1(e) of the principal Regulations shall be substituted by the following, namely:--

"JNPT" means Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust which is a major port notified under Major Port Trusts Act, 1963 and approved as a Developer for SEZ at villages Sawarkahr, Karal, Sonari and Jaskhar, Taluka Uran, District Raigad vide notification No. S.O. 2047 (E) dated 11 August, 2014 issued by Government of India, Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Department of Commerce (SEZ Section) Udyog Bhawan, New Delhi and, consequent to the change in its name, shall mean and include, as the context may require, Jawaharlal Nehru Port Authority, pursuant to (i) repeal of The Major Port Trusts Act, 1963 by The Major Port Authorities Act, 2021, (ii) Resolution dated 26 May 2022 passed by the Board of Jawaharlal Nehru Port Authority approving to change the name of "Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust" to "Jawaharlal Nehru Port Authority" in accordance with the Major Port Authorities Act, 2021 and (iii) Approval dated 19 January 2023 issued by the Development Commissioner, SEEPZ SEZ.

Mumbai Dated: Dr. RAJENDRA G. AMBEKAR Secretary, Maharashtra Electricity Regulatory Commission. Note: The Maharashtra Electricity Regulatory Commission (Specific Conditions of Distribution Licence applicable to Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust for SEZ at Jawaharlal Nehru Port, Taluka Uran, District Raigad) Regulations, 2018 were notified in the Official Gazette on 13 November, 2018.