MAHARASHTRA ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION

13th Floor, Centre No.1, World Trade Centre, Cuffe Parade, Mumbai – 400 005 Tel. 022 22163964/65/69 Fax 22163976

Email: mercindia@mercindia.org.in

Website: www.merc.gov.in/ www.mercindia.org.in

Maharashtra Electricity Regulatory Commission (Specific Conditions of Distribution Licence applicable to M/s. Gigaplex Estate Pvt. Ltd. for IT & ITES SEZ at Airoli Knowledge Park, TTC Industrial Area, Airoli, Distt. Thane) (Second Amendment) Regulations, 2018

STATEMENT OF REASONS

Date: 20 September, 2018

M/s. Gigaplex Estate Pvt. Ltd. had filed a Petition in Case No. 161 of 2017 for amendment of the MERC (Specific Conditions of Distribution Licence applicable to M/s. Gigaplex Estate Pvt. Ltd. for IT/ITES SEZ at Airoli Knowledge Park, TTC Industrial Area, Distt. Thane) Regulations, 2015 due to increase in the area of the Special Economic Zone (SEZ) vide SEZ Notification No. S.O. (E) dated 30 October, 2017 of the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Government of India, resulting in amendment in its Licence supply area.

Vide Order dated 10 June, 2018, the Commission allowed the Petition in principle and stated that the process of amending these Regulations to incorporate the revised area shall be undertaken separately.

Accordingly, a Public Notice inviting suggestions and objections on the Draft MERC (Specific Conditions of Distribution Licence applicable to M/s. Gigaplex Estate Pvt. Ltd. for IT & ITES SEZ at Airoli Knowledge Park, TTC Industrial Area, Airoli, Distt. Thane) (Second Amendment) Regulations, 2018 incorporating the revised area of Licence was published in daily newspapers (Times of India, Indian Express, Maharashtra Times and Loksatta) on 20 July, 2018, and the draft Regulations were made available on the Commission's websites. The last date for receipt of comments was 21 August, 2018.

In response, no comment has been received. Therefore, the Commission is of the view that no change is required in the draft amendment to the Regulations, and it is finalised accordingly.

Sd/-(Mukesh Khullar) Member Sd/-(I. M. Bohari) Member Sd/-(Anand B. Kulkarni) Chairperson