NOTIFICATION

Ref.: <u>Regulation 5.2 and Regulation 5.3 of Maharashtra Electricity Regulatory</u> <u>Commission (Authorised Consumer Representatives) Regulations, 2012</u>

<u>Selection Committee for the purpose of selecting and nominating names of the persons found suitable to be authorised as Consumer Representatives.</u>

The MERC (Authorised Consumer Representatives) Regulations, 2012 provide that there shall be a total of six(6) nos. of 'Institutional Consumer Representatives' and a Panel of fifteen(15) nos. of 'Individual Consumer Representatives', authorised to represent the interests of electricity consumers (in Maharashtra), in the proceedings before the Commission.

Regulations 5.2 and 5.3, provide that the Commission shall constitute a 'Selection Committee' for selection and nomination of an Institution or Individual person, found suitable to be authorised by the Commission as a Consumer Representative (\mathbf{CR}), out of the applications received by the Commission's office.

In line with the above regulations, the Commission has formed the Selection Committee, comprising of the following persons as its *ex-officio* members:

I)	Director, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai: – Prof. S. Parasuraman.	Chairperson
II)	Chairperson, Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum, at the State Level, situated at Mumbai – Justice S. B. Mhase.	Member
III)	Chairperson, Consumers Guidance Society of India, Mumbai office – Shri Sitaram Dixit.	Member
IV)	The Principal Secretary/ Secretary, Food, Civil Supplies & Consumer Protection Department, Government of Maharashtra.	Member
V)	Secretary to the Commission	Member Secretary

Sd/-(K. N. KHAWAREY) Secretary, Maharashtra Electricity Regulatory Commission, Mumbai